Is an international exchange right for me? / Un échange international, est-ce pour moi?

Always smiling with my entrepreneurship students

Always smiling with my entrepreneurship students

La version française suit l’anglais

I was recently asked: What advice would you give a colleague looking to contribute to knowledge abroad?

Hmmm… where to start?

First off, I would say go for it!

We often don’t realize how much we can contribute and the changes we can help bring about.

In Canada, we think of an expert as someone who has a master’s degree and years of experience to back it up. Elsewhere, we become experts because of where we have come from and the skills we bring.

When I arrived at the Open Doors Centre (ODC) I voiced some concerns, insisting “I don’t know what I am doing, I’m not a teacher.”

This doesn’t matter, in their eyes I am an expert and I have the knowledge, experience and resources to do the job; my place at the front of the classroom is well deserved.

Secondly, success can be measured in different ways.

People often go on development assignments (me included) thinking and hoping to make a grand difference in the world, but we have to remember to take baby steps.

For six months, I have been working on a small business curriculum that is part of a larger strategic plan to help the students at the ODC make their own money and create a sustainable livelihood for themselves.

I won’t be here to witness them open their own businesses and I am not sure how many will, but this is not how I have defined my success.

Rather, I’ve found success in the renewed confidence my students have and knowing I’ve helped them work through a challenge.

I’ve become a confidant to talk to and dream about the future with. I’ve opened their eyes to a great big world out there, and helped my students set personal goals for themselves.

In this, I have found success!

***

Hands on learning: a student works with the electronics teacher to re-wire an outlet

Un étudiant (à gauche) travail avec le professeur en Électronique (à droite)

Un échange international, est-ce pour moi?

Quels conseils pourrais-je donner à mes collègues qui souhaiteraient contribuer au développement des connaissances à l’étranger?

Hmmm… par où commencer?

Tout d’abord, je dirais : allez-y!

Souvent, nous ne nous rendons pas compte de tout ce qu’on a à offrir et des changements qu’on peut susciter.

Au Canada, on pense qu’un expert est quelqu’un qui est titulaire d’une maîtrise et possède des années d’expérience à l’appui. Ailleurs, nous sommes des experts en raison du pays d’où nous venons et des compétences que nous avons.

Quand je suis arrivée à l’Open Doors Centre (ODC), j’ai eu quelques doutes. Je répétais : « je ne sais pas ce que je fais, je ne suis pas enseignante! ».

Peu importe. À leurs yeux, je suis une experte et j’ai les connaissances, l’expérience et les ressources qu’il faut pour faire le travail; ma place devant les élèves est bien méritée.

Ensuite, on peut mesurer le succès de plusieurs façons.

On part souvent en mission de développement (moi la première) en croyant qu’on va changer radicalement les choses, mais en réalité, il faut y aller très progressivement.

Je donne depuis six mois un cours sur la petite entreprise qui s’inscrit dans un plan stratégique plus global dont l’objectif est de permettre aux élèves de l’ODC de gagner de leur propre argent et de subvenir durablement à leurs besoins.

Je ne serai plus ici quand ils lanceront leurs entreprises et je ne sais pas combien d’entre eux le feront, mais ce n’est pas ça qui fera que j’ai réussi ou non.

Ma réussite, c’est plutôt la confiance retrouvée de mes élèves, leurs accolades à la sortie du cours et quand nous avons réglé ensemble un problème.

Je suis devenue pour eux une personne de confiance à qui ils parlent de leurs rêves et de leur avenir, je leur ai ouvert les yeux sur le monde qui les entoure et je les ai aidés à se fixer des objectifs individuels.

C’est ça ma réussite! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is an international exchange right for me? / Un échange international, est-ce pour moi?

  1. Serge says:

    What you are doing helping this community is very admirable and it will impact many lives (yours included) in a very positive way. I can see you are a compassionate person and a great example of life. Thanks a lot for sharing this experience.
    The Goodness of Giving: http://www.awarenessmag.com/novdec09/nd09_the_goodness_of_giving.htm

Leave a Reply

