A colleague visits / Visite d’un collègue

Visiting the falls with Ryan, left, and his brother

This week, I’m doing things a little differently on the blog.

I present to you a special guest post by my colleague, Ryan, who recently came down for a visit.

Ryan is a senior account manager at BDC in London, Ontario.

I asked him to shine a little light on Guyana from his point of view. He’s worked for a number of international trade organizations and on development projects around the world.

Ryan, in his own words

Guyana! When I first heard that Samantha was going to Guyana for the BDC pilot, the traveller in me got excited right away.

I was already planning a trip to Tobago, so with Samantha on board I extended my trip and made a three-day pit stop in Guyana.

Upon arrival, Guyana reminded me of other developing areas I had visited throughout Asia and the Middle East. The sights and sounds from the airport to Georgetown (where Samantha lives) were exciting—it’s clear this is a country on the move.

Speaking of being on the move, I should mention that the highlight of my trip to Guyana (besides catching up with a colleague) was definitely our day trip via a six‑seater Cessna plane into Guyana’s remote jungle to visit the fantastic Kaieteur Falls, the world’s tallest single drop waterfall.

To be able to witness such a stunning piece of nature without other tourists, ticket booths or security railings in sight was a treat! It was arguably the most impressive piece of nature I have ever laid eyes on.

Okay, now back to the entrepreneurs.

I can see that Samantha is doing a tremendous job at the Open Doors Centre on behalf of BDC and Cuso International. She has overcome many obstacles and has found her place in the classroom.

The knowledge Samantha is transferring in creating an entrepreneurship training curriculum and teaching the course is both priceless and a major value-add for the school’s curriculum.

The entrepreneurial spirit is high in Guyana, whether you’re strolling through the market or walking past a slew of taxi drivers jockeying for your business.

*END OF GUEST BLOG*

It looks like my work in Guyana developing an entrepreneurship training curriculum for the Open Doors Centre is right up Ryan’s alley. I’m glad and truly lucky to have the support of my colleagues!

***

La jungle luxuriante du Guyana

La jungle luxuriante de la Guyana

Visite d’un collègue

Cette semaine, je fais les choses autrement en publiant un blogue spécial signé par mon collègue Ryan, qui m’a rendu visite récemment.

Ryan est directeur principal au centre d’affaires de BDC à London, en Ontario.

Je lui ai demandé de nous donner son point de vue sur le Guyana. Ryan a travaillé pour de nombreuses organisations commerciales mondiales et participé à des projets de développement partout dans le monde.

 

Ryan, dans ses propres mots

Le Guyana! Quand j’ai appris que Samantha se rendait au Guyana dans le cadre du projet pilote de BDC, le voyageur en moi a tout de suite été emballé.

Je planifiais déjà un voyage à Tobago et, avec l’accord de Samantha, j’ai prolongé mon séjour et passé trois jours au Guyana.

À mon arrivée, le Guyana m’a rappelé d’autres régions en développement d’Asie et du Moyen-Orient où j’ai séjourné. J’ai été emballé par les sons et les paysages qui ont accompagné mon trajet de l’aéroport à Georgetown (où Samantha habite). On voit tout de suite que le Guyana est un pays « qui bouge ».

Parlant de bouger, j’aimerais souligner que le point saillant de mon voyage au Guyana (outre le fait de passer du temps avec une collègue) a sans conteste été notre excursion d’une journée aux spectaculaires chutes de Kaieteur, dans la jungle guyanienne, à bord d’un avion Cessna de six places. Ces chutes sont répertoriées comme les plus hautes (d’un seul tenant) de la planète.

Avoir la possibilité d’admirer un site sauvage aussi époustouflant en l’absence d’autres touristes, de billetteries ou de rampes de sécurité était un privilège! C’est sans doute l’attraction naturelle la plus impressionnante qu’il m’ait été donné de voir.

Mais revenons-en aux entrepreneurs.

Je peux voir que Samantha accomplit un énorme travail au centre Open Doors pour le compte de BDC et de Cuso International. Elle a dû surmonter de nombreux obstacles, mais a su trouver sa place dans la salle de classe.

Les connaissances qu’elle transmet en créant un programme de formation en entrepreneuriat et en l’enseignant simultanément sont très précieuses et apportent une grande valeur ajoutée au programme d’enseignement du centre.

L’esprit d’entreprise est fort au Guyana, aussi bien dans les marchés que parmi la multitude de chauffeurs de taxi qui se bousculent pour attirer les clients.

*FIN DU BLOGUE SPÉCIAL*

Le travail que j’accomplis au Guyana en élaborant un programme de formation en entrepreneuriat pour le centre Open Doors semble être tout à fait dans les cordes de Ryan. Je suis heureuse et vraiment chanceuse de bénéficier du soutien de mes collègues!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A colleague visits / Visite d’un collègue

  1. Glen Ryter says:

    Clearly having an impact. Well done. Building brand around the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

