I kind of like this teaching gig / J’aime bien mon rôle d’enseignante

I kind of like this teaching gig

I kind of like this teaching gig (Photo credit: Ana Santos (Derivative: Scarce)

La version française suit l’anglais

I have regular teaching hours now, with two full days in the classroom.

I kind of like this teaching gig.

I have been working on a small‑business management curriculum at the Open Doors Centre in Guyana and teaching the course along the way.

It felt weird at first, trying to simplify this massive, ever‑evolving topic for a group with at most a primary education.

I’ve focused my lesson planning on the life skills that make for a successful entrepreneur and, to make sure it’s practical, we are working with one business throughout the course, taking an idea and going through each of the steps of opening a business.

My favourite part of the day is when I interact with students. They share things with me and tell me their stories. I talk to them and ask them questions about themselves to try and get to know them better.

I’ve learned to keep Facebook to a minimum, because as soon as they see that blue banner it’s “Miss, miss, add me! Miss, my name, add me!”

I don’t have any creative excuses for why we can’t be Facebook friends.

***

Looking for business ads in the paper

Les élèves du centre Open Doors

Mon horaire de travail est maintenant normal (deux journées complètes en classe).

J’aime bien mon rôle d’enseignante.

Je travaille sur un programme de gestion de petite entreprise au centre Open Doors au Guyana, tout en donnant le cours aux élèves.

J’ai trouvé difficile au départ de réduire à sa plus simple expression un sujet si vaste et changeant pour un groupe ayant fait, tout au plus, des études primaires.

J’ai axé la planification des leçons sur les habiletés fondamentales nécessaires pour devenir un entrepreneur prospère.

Par ailleurs, nous n’examinons le cas que d’une seule entreprise, que nous suivons à toutes les étapes, du concept à la fondation, afin que le cours soit vraiment utile aux participants.

Mon moment préféré de la journée est celui où j’interagis avec les élèves. Nous avons des discussions au cours desquelles ils partagent leur vécu. Je leur pose des questions pour mieux les connaître.

J’essaie d’utiliser Facebook le moins souvent possible, car dès que les élèves voient la bannière bleue, ils s’écrient tous : « Madame, madame ! Faites-moi une demande d’amitié ! » et je n’ai aucune bonne excuse pour expliquer mon refus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

