About me / Un mot à mon sujet

Me-Samantha

Me: Samantha Hunter, BDC account manager in ON/Cuso development volunteer

La version française suit l’anglais

Still fresh in my career—a banker with a heart for philanthropy (yes, we exist)—I am leaving the cushy life to learn the successes and trials of entrepreneurship in a developing country, and to share my knowledge and skills with entrepreneurs in Guyana, South America.

My internship with Cuso and BDC

I left for Georgetown, Guyana on a six-month internship with Cuso International, the Business Development Bank of Canada’s (BDC) partner organization for the pilot, on September 10.

I will be working with the Open Doors Centre and providing business skills training to entrepreneurs with disabilities and their personal support workers (PSWs).

My passion for entrepreneurship and international development

Meeting students at the Open Doors Centre in Georgetown, Guyana

Meeting entrepreneurs at the Open Doors Centre in Georgetown, Guyana

International development was my focus in school.

My passion and I found a great fit with the BDC, working with Canadian entrepreneurs and providing much-needed capital and consulting to local businesses.

I was sold by the “Entrepreneurs First” mandate, and have spent the last two years as an Account Manager in Kitchener, Ontario.

We may joke in the office about how I think I am going to save the world, and that I might hug too many trees, but these are characteristics that have helped me find success in what I do, and build great relationships with the entrepreneurs we work with.

When the opportunity to travel abroad and support entrepreneurs at a grass root level arose, I knew it was something I had to go for.

I spent my university coop in South Africa, in a skills development and capacity-building setting working with agricultural and artisan cooperatives. It was an experience I will never forget, one of those things you always relate to and then start too many stories with “when I lived in South Africa…”

I am looking forward to getting back to my roots, and to using my hands and sharing my skills in a way that will bring lasting change. Bankers like things that are tangible.

This is my journey, enjoy!

-Samantha

***

Me voici

Me voici: Samantha Hunter, Directrice de comptes, BDC en ON et en exchange avec Cuso en développement international

Ma carrière à peine amorcée — je suis une banquière doublée d’une philanthrope (oui, ça existe!) —, je quitte ma vie confortable en direction du Guyana, en Amérique du Sud, pour faire l’expérience de l’entrepreneuriat dans un pays en développement et partager mes connaissances et mes habiletés avec des entrepreneurs locaux.

Une affectation avec Cuso et BDC

Le 10 septembre, j’ai mis le cap sur Georgetown, au Guyana, pour une affectation de six mois avec Cuso International, l’organisme partenaire de la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) dans le cadre du projet pilote.

J’y travaillerai avec le centre Open Doors et je fournirai une formation sur les compétences en affaires à des entrepreneurs handicapés et à leurs préposés aux services de soutien à la personne.

Ma passion pour l’entrepreneuriat et le développement international

À l’école, je me passionnais pour le développement international.

J’ai trouvé à la BDC un endroit parfait où donner libre cours à cette passion puisque j’ai la chance de travailler avec les entrepreneurs canadiens et de fournir des capitaux et des services de consultation indispensables à des entreprises locales.

J’ai été conquise par le mandat — L’entrepreneur d’abord — et j’ai passé les deux dernières années à Kitchener, en Ontario, comme directrice de comptes.

On a beau plaisanter au bureau sur le fait que je pense pouvoir sauver le monde et que je suis peut-être un peu trop écolo, mais ce sont des caractéristiques qui m’ont aidée à réussir dans ce que je fais ainsi qu’à nouer d’excellentes relations avec les entrepreneurs que je sers.

Quand l’occasion de me rendre à l’étranger pour soutenir directement des entrepreneurs locaux s’est présentée, j’ai su que je ne pouvais pas la laisser filer.

À l’université, j’ai fait mon stage coop en Afrique du Sud auprès de coopératives d’agriculteurs et d’artisans auxquelles j’apportais une aide en matière de développement des compétences et de renforcement des capacités.

Ce fut une expérience inoubliable, de celles qu’on aime relater encore et encore, en commençant chaque récit par « Quand je vivais en Afrique du Sud… ».

J’ai hâte de revenir à mes racines et d’utiliser mes mains et mes compétences pour apporter un changement durable. Les banquiers aiment les choses tangibles.

Voici le récit de mon expérience. Bonne lecture!

-Samantha

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About me / Un mot à mon sujet

  1. denis dunn says:

    Hi Samantha. Congratulations on leaving the comforts behind and stretching yourself. FYI I worked BD 93-99 in Niagara (my home) and since then have worked overseas mostly PSD. I once checked out an EC job in Guyana – the interior. I was also a CUSO volunteer 80-82. So we have a lot in common. I look forward to your blogs. Good luck there and enjoy!

    • Samantha Hunter says:

      Hi Denis, thanks for your words of encouragement! I’m making the most of my time in Guyana working with future entrepreneurs- looking forward to new adventures

Leave a Reply

